A pair of B-listed Romanesque towers that are an iconic part of the Dumfries skyline are currently undergoing repairs that it’s hoped will save the structures and preserve them for the future.
The Daily Record reported that the two towers, which are the last remaining parts of St Andrew’s Roman Catholic Cathedral, are having work carried out to their masonry. The place of worship originally opened in 1813, and stood on the site on Shakespeare Street for 150 years.
The rest of the cathedral was irreparably damaged in a fire in the 1960s and the two towers have since fallen into disrepair. According to the newspaper, a survey conducted a few years ago found that the walls of the towers had become “very damp with growths of vegetation at several levels”.
The survey also stated that both towers were “very green from algae bloom”. Steeplejacks now have the challenging task of carrying out works to repair the masonry and other elements of the structures.
Many churches and other places of worship around the UK struggle to keep on top of repair works. North Devon Gazette recently reported that Lavington United Reform Church in Bideford has undergone essential repair works during lockdown.
The masonry and stonework on the front of the church required extensive repairs, which were conducted by a team of preservation specialists earlier this year.
The church also checked its lightning conductors while the steeplejacks were at work. Reverend Weston said that there is still much work to be done at the church, however. “Whilst the work on the outside wall has been completed, we now need to raise £11,000 to redecorate the wall on the inside,” he told the newspaper.
Looking for assistance with corrosion control at a building you manage? Get in touch with us today.